Announcing “TRON Tuesdays” (or whatever)

Over the past several years I’ve gotten sucked into the TRONiverse like Flynn getting sucked inside a computer. I’ve watched the films, seen the sadly short-lived TV show, played some of the video games (and watched Let’s Plays of the others), and – gods help me – even read the fanfiction. And, like the rest of the fandom, I watched as Disney shut down branches of the franchise one by one, helplessly screaming “NO NO NO NO NO NO” like a Bit trapped in an out-of-control Recognizer.

I’m sure Disney has their reasons. Maybe not good reasons, but reasons. And between the cancellation of TRON 3 last year and Bruce Boxleitner ragequitting the franchise soon after, the series looked finished for good. Then out of nowhere comes a new video game, TRON RUN/r – maybe not a story-based game, but I’ll take what I can get – and a sweet new lightcycle ride at Shanghai Disneyland. And with all the mysterious “MISSION DAY MAY 14” messages hidden throughout the TRON RUN/r levels, I’d hoped that maybe we’d be getting more good news.

tumblr_nzlijqgzcb1rsgjvho1_1280

But alas, May 14 came and went and no announcement of any kind was made. I’ll still hold out hope that something good will happen, because I’m a TRON fan and we TRON fans never learn. In the meantime, I’m going to write a series of semi-regular posts covering as many entries in the extended TRONiverse as I can get my hands on.

Why? Well, I say: why not? It’s my blog, and I have to write about something. It might as well be something I love, right?

And don’t worry, I’ll post about other stuff too. This will just be a nice little series to work on, and nobody’s gonna hold an identity disc to your neck and force you to read any of it if you don’t want to.

Week 1: TRON (1982)
Week 2: TRON: Legacy (2010)
Week 3: TRON: Uprising (2012-2013) – Part 1
Week 4: TRON: Uprising (2012-2013) – Part 2
Week 5: TRON: Uprising (2012-2013) – Part 3
Week 6: TRON Video Games – Wave 1 (1980s)

END OF LINE

7 thoughts on “Announcing “TRON Tuesdays” (or whatever)

Leave a Reply

